Upcoming Events Archived News & Events Friday Five & Newsletter Meetings, Minutes & Reports Notices & Health Canada Advisories Honours & Awards Request for Proposals Media Release

Upcoming Events

Membership Vote Results: Streamlining the Regulation Amendment Process 

The College thanks its members for their participation in the membership vote that concluded on July 18th, 2017. Member ballots have been received and counted in accordance with The Pharmaceutical Act (The Act), Regulation, and By-laws.

Members were asked to vote on whether they support the following resolution provided by government:

“BE IT RESOLVED THAT the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba submit a formal request to the Minister of Health, Seniors and Active Living that The Pharmaceutical Act be amended to repeal the requirement in section 74 of The Act that regulations made by the Council of the College under The Act must be approved by the members of the College.”

The Ballot Committee has reported the results of the vote as follows:

  • There were 690 ballots cast, of which 8 were spoiled.
  • Yes: 503
  • No: 169
  • Abstain: 10

The outcome of this membership vote will be forwarded to Minister Kelvin Goertzen for consideration by government.

The College also thanks the Ballot Committee for tallying the votes. The Ballot Committee was comprised of a representative from each of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists – Manitoba Branch, the College of Pharmacy at the University of Manitoba and Pharmacists Manitoba.

The College will update the membership by email and in its bi-weekly publication, Friday Five, once government has considered the result and made a decision.