Upcoming Events Position Statements Archived News & Events Friday Five & Newsletter Meetings, Minutes & Reports Notices & Health Canada Advisories Honours & Awards Request for Proposals

Honours &  Awards

2018 College of Pharmacists of Manitoba Awards Recipients

The College of Pharmacists of Manitoba (CPhM) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2018 CPhM and Young Leader Awards. Congratulations to this year's award recipients on their dedication and leadership in pharmacy practice.

College of Pharmacists of Manitoba Awards
2017 Pharmacist of the Year
Grazia Prochazka

This award is given annually to a Manitoba Pharmacist who, in the opinion of his/ her peers, has made a significant contribution to the profession during his/her career, has been elected to office in provincial and/or national pharmacy organizations and possesses high practice standards and innovation.

Pfizer Consumer Healthcare Bowl of Hygeia Award
Patrick Fitch

The Pfizer Consumer Healthcare Bowl of Hygeia Award is presented in recognition of the time and personal sacrifice devoted by pharmacists to the welfare of their respective community. This award was established in 1958 and awarded to a pharmacist for outstanding community service.

Bonnie Schultz Memorial Award for
Pharmacy Practice Excellence
Nora Kaye

The Bonnie Schultz Memorial Award for Practice Excellence is given on occasion to a pharmacist or a group of pharmacists who demonstrate outstanding excellence in optimizing patient care, serve as a role model, demonstrate superior communication skills, display compassion, empathy and concern.

Patient Safety Award
Council Members from the 2014-2016 term

This award recognizes the achievement of an individual pharmacist, a group of pharmacists, an interdisciplinary group (that includes a pharmacist or pharmacists as key participants) or a pharmacy organization that has made a significant and lasting contribution to improving patient safety and health care quality through a specific initiative or project. The Patient Safety Award for 2017 is presented in recognition of the 2014-2016 College Council’s Exempted Codeine Preparations patient safety initiative.

Honorary Member
Ray Joubert

An Honorary Membership is given to worthy individuals, who are not registered pharmacists in Manitoba, but have provided valuable and notable service to the profession of pharmacy.

Honorary Life Members
Shawn Bugden and Daniel Sitar

This award is presented to pharmacists who have made a significant contribution to the profession of pharmacy in Manitoba and at the national level.         

Young Leader Awards

This award is given to recently licensed pharmacists (practicing 1 to 5 years post-graduation) and to pharmacy students in their final year of study who have made a professional contribution to patient care, the pharmacy profession or amongst their colleagues and peers at the University Of Manitoba College Of Pharmacy.

Congratulations to the following Young Leaders:

Tommy Barr

Tyler Campbell

Jasmine Duthie

Hailey Lincoln

Alia Marcinkow