

# 2023 Award Nominations

## The College of Pharmacists of Manitoba invites nominations for the following honours and awards:

## The Pharmacist of the Year

The Pharmacist of the Year award is given annually to a Manitoba pharmacist who, in the opinion of his/her peers, has made a significant contribution to the profession during his/her career.

Criteria to be identified with the nomination should include:

- Elected office in provincial and/or national; pharmacy organizations
- Committee involvement with provincial/national pharmacy organizations
- Practice achievements
- Mentorship, high practice standards, and innovation

## Previous Award Winners

1969 - Jack Richardson	1988 - Nick Otten	2007 - Ruby Grymonpre
1970 - Joe Karr	1989 - Bonnie Schultz	2008 - Laverne Vercaigne
1971 - Colin Barlow	1990 - Ernest Stefanson	2009 - Penny Murray
1972 - Bruce Moir	1991 - Orville Wagner	2010 - Pat Trozzo
1973 - Jack Litvack	1992 - Marian Kremers	2011 - Dinah Santos
1974 - A. Langley Jones	1993 - Darryl Darling	2012 - Grant Lawson
1975 - Alf Bell	1994 - Kevin Hall	2013 - W. Gary Cavanagh
1976 - Bev Lloyd	1995 - Myron Kurjewicz	2014 - Shawn Bugden
1977 - J. Laurie Johnson	1996 - Real Mulaire	2015 - Penny Shefrin
1978 - C. "Gerry" Chapman	1997 - Albert Eros	2016 - Kyle MacNair
1979 - John Clubb	1998 - Rem Weiss	2017 - Grazia Prochazka
1980 - Harvey Cantin	1999 - Sharon Smith	2018 - Jarrid McKitrick
1981 - Vernon Cooke	2000 - Chuck McClure	2019 - Glenda Marsh
1982 - Archie Orlikow	2001 - Barbara Cinnamon	2020 - Jennifer Ludwig
1983 - B. Marie Berry	2002 - Dexter Boyd	
1984 - Morna Cook	2003 - Rob Ariano	
1985 - Raymond Biglow	2004 - Ronald Eros	
1986 - Stewart Wilcox	2005 - Ralph Whitfield	
1987 - Alistaire Pringle	2006 - Lois Cantin	

## Bonnie Schultz Memorial Award for Pharmacy Practice Excellence

The Bonnie Schultz Memorial Award for Pharmacy Practice Excellence is presented annually with the proviso that the Awards Committee may choose not to recommend an award if a worthy recipient has not been identified.

Any person may nominate a pharmacist or group of pharmacists for the award. An individual will be entitled to receive an award on more than one occasion.

Criteria: The nominee shall demonstrate outstanding excellence in optimizing patient care. Factors to be considered:

- Serve as a role model
- Compassion, empathy, and concern
- Mentorship, high practice standards and innovation
- Excellence in communication skills
- Demonstration of skilled practice

## Previous Award Winners

1995 - Dawn Williamson	2004 - Dennis Wong	2013 - Jamison Falk
1996 - Roxanne Demianczuk	2005 - Dinah Santos	2014 - Jennifer Gibson
1997 - Rhonda Fusee	2006 - Grazia Prochazka	2015 - Rick Thurmeier
1998 - Betty Van Middlesworth	2007 - Lavern Vercaigne	2016 - Kristine Petrasko
1999- Nancy Remillard	2008 - Catherine Sabiston	2017 - Michael Armas
2000- n/a	2009 - Ishwar Master	2018 - Nora Kaye
2001 - Pat Trozzo	2010 - Donald Mestdagh	2019 - Lengim Ingram
2002 - Cathy Sochasky	2011 - Gregory Harochaw	2020 - Henk Denboer
2003 - Blair Seifert	2012 - Barbara Bromilow	2021 - Colin Langedock

## Patient Safety Award

The Patient Safety Award recognizes the achievement of an individual pharmacist, a group of pharmacists, an interdisciplinary group (that includes a pharmacist or pharmacists as key participants) or a pharmacy organization that has made a significant and lasting contribution to improving patient safety and health care quality through a specific initiative or project.

#### Criteria to be identified with the nomination should include:

- The pharmacist(s) involved are members of the College.
- The project or program has demonstrated a positive impact upon patient safety and involves some component of the practice of pharmacy.
- Innovation and patient-centred care projects will be given preference.
- The project or program could be preventative in nature, or may has occurred as a result of an adverse event or "near-miss".

2011- Venetia Bourrier	2016 - Barbara Sproll
2012 - Cenzina Caligiuri	2017 - Kim McIntosh, Ms. Nicole Nakatsu, Mr. Michael Sloan, Ms. Diana Heywood, RN and Dr. Marina Reinecke (Opioid Replacement Therapy 101 Education Program)
2013 - Susan Lessard-Friesen	2018 - 2014-2016 Council
2014 - Gayle Romanetz & Scott McFeetors	2019 - Doug Thidrickson
2015 - Janie Coates	2020 –Ronda Eros, Jillian Hardy, Rachel Carlson, Gus Gottfred (Safety IQ)

### Honoraries

#### HONORARY LIFE MEMBERS

Pharmacists who have made a significant contribution to pharmacy in Manitoba and at the national level may be eligible for honorary life membership.

1975 - John Turnbell	2004 - Marilyn Kremers	2013 - Lois Cantin	2018 - Dr. Shawn Bugden
1987 - Verne Cooke	2007 - Darryl Darling	2015 - Keith Simons	
1996 - Norman Williams	2007 - Ernest Stefanson	2016 - W. Gary Cavanagh	
1996 - John Steele	2008 - Orville Wagner	2016 - Ronald F. Guse	
1997 - Archie Orlikow	2011 - Raymond C. Biglow	2017 - Penny Murray	
2002 - Morna Cook	2011 - Alistaire M. Pringle	2018 - Dr. Daniel N. Sitar	

#### **HONORARY MEMBERS**

An Honorary Membership may be given to worthy individuals, who are not registered pharmacists in Manitoba, and have provided valuable and notable service to the profession of pharmacy.

1994 - Ron Kennedy	2001 - Diane Granger	2009 - Sheila Holden	2018 - Raymond Joubert
1996 - Stuart Ryan	2008 - William Eamer	2009 - John Rodie	2020 - Carmen Catizone
1999 - Judy Holden	2009 - David Collins	2015 - William Pope	

### Honoraries

#### **CENTENNIAL AWARD**

The Centennial Award recognizes the achievement of an individual pharmacist, a group of pharmacists, an interdisciplinary group (that includes a pharmacist or pharmacists as key participants) or a pharmacy organization that has made a significant and lasting positive impact on the practice and/or profession of pharmacy.

1979 - Bev Lloyd (100-year celebration)	1995 - Dale Crawford, Ross Forsyth & Steve Younger (Development of the Drug Program Information Network)
1979 - Martin Ringer (Pharmacy Trail)	1996 - Larry Leroux (Non-potable Abuse Committee)
1979 - John Steele (M.Ph.A. patient information sheets)	1999 - Dieter Foss & Jodene Keith (Seamless Care Project)
1980 - Mel Waddell & John Shaw (Continuing Education Program)	2000 - Ruby Grymonpre ( New Horizons: Partners in Aging Program)
1981 - Marie Berry & Al Pringle (Drug Caution Code Program)	2009 - David Collins, Lyle Silverman & Marian Kremers (Prescription for the Future Alumni Campaign)
1983 - Dave Thompson (Pharmacy Group Insurance Program) 1983 - Vernon Cooke (At Risk Committee)	2010 - Shawn Bugden, Kyle MacNair, Susan Lessard- Friesen & Ronald Guse (Prescription Information Service of Manitoba - PrlSM)
1988 - Joseph Wilder (Pharmacy House Museum)	2014 - Chris Louizos, Kimberly McIntosh & Lavern Vercagne (Manitoba Administration of Injections
1989 - Ronald Guse & Myron Kurjewicz (kNOw Drugs Program)	Training Program)
1994 - Charles Baumgartner, Vernon Cooke, Bev Lloyd, Archie Orlikow & Laurie Johnston (Winnipeg Harvest)	

The letter of nomination or application, along with supportive documents must be received by the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba office no later than Friday, January 13, 2023. The award recipients, or a representative of the recipient group, will be invited to receive the award during the CPhM Annual Awards Presentation.

#### Please send all nominations to:

College of Pharmacists of Manitoba Attention: The Awards & Nominating Committee 200 Tache Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 1A7 Phone (204) 233-1411 Fax (204) 237-3468 Email: info@cphm.ca