The Council is responsible for governing CPhM. Council is made up of elected CPhM registrants and public representatives appointed by the Minister of Health and Seniors Care. Council meetings are open to the public.

Role of the CPhM Council

CPhM carries out its activities and governs its members in a manner that protects the public interest. This mandate is achieved under the direction of a Council. Council sets policy and governs the CPhM in the public interest.

A female pharmacist wearing a hijab stands smiling and facing the camera while holding a clipboard and penSome of the decisions Council makes include:

  • Setting education and other entry-to-practice and licence requirements for pharmacists and pharmacies
  • Setting professional and ethical standards of practice for pharmacists
  • Setting quality assurance programs to ensure the continuing competence of pharmacists

The College Council consists of the following members:

Voting Members

  • Four licensed pharmacists from Electoral District #1 (City of Winnipeg)
  • Four licensed pharmacists from Electoral District #2 (outside the City of Winnipeg)
  • Dean of the College of Pharmacy, University of Manitoba
  • Immediate Past President
  • Five Public Representatives

Non-voting Members

  • Liaison from Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) – Manitoba Branch, appointed by CSHP – Manitoba Branch
  • Liaison from Pharmacists Manitoba (appointed by Pharmacists Manitoba)
  • Liaison who is or soon will be a listed pharmacy technician (appointed by Council)
  • Liaison from Student Council, College of Pharmacy (appointed by Student Council)

Council members attend five Council meetings each year and serve on statutory and standing Committees of the College.

Elected Council members serve for a two-year term and may serve consecutive terms. The immediate past president serves an additional two-year term while the appointed public representatives serve for the term, as determined by the Minister of Health and Seniors Care.

Council Members

Executive Committee Members

Jane Lamont, President, District 2

Ryan Buffie, Vice President, District 1

Wendy Clark, Past President

Jennifer Ludwig, Executive Treasurer, District 2

Donna Forbes, Public Representative

Amanda Andreas, Public Representative

Tory Crawford, Public Representative

Alanna Doell, District 1

Donald Himbeault, Public Representative

Brendon Mitchell, District 1

Teryl Moore, District 2

Sonal Purohit, District 1

Dr. Lalitha Raman-Wilms, Dean, College of Pharmacy

Elizabeth Reimer, Public Representative

Joanne Johnson, District 2

Liaisons to Council

Wendy Clark, Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada

Cecile Ngai, Pharmacy Technician

Leah Pritchett, Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists, MB Branch

Tanjit Nagra, Pharmacists Manitoba

Shaelyn Gustafson, Student Representative, College of Pharmacy

Meetings and Minutes

Council meetings are held five times per year and meetings are open to the public.

Learn more

CPhM Committees

Composition of each committee is set out in its terms of reference and consists of Council members, members of the public, and pharmacists and pharmacy technicians appointed by Council.

Learn more