Friday Five (April 1, 2022)

This week's Friday Five includes pharmacy compounding services declaration invitation, Council membership for the 2022-24 term, and CPhM AGM registration.

CPhM Invites Pharmacy Managers to Self-Declare Pharmacy Compounding Services through their Pharmacy Portal        

In the interest of patient safety and access to care, CPhM asks that pharmacy managers self-declare, and make public if appropriate, the NAPRA Model Standard compliant sterile hazardous and non-hazardous compounding services and non-sterile compounding Level C services their pharmacies provide.

Currently, facilities and pharmacies that offer hazardous and/or non-hazardous sterile compounding or non-sterile compounding Level C are mostly located in hospitals and a small number of community pharmacies in Manitoba. Although these services are available, there are challenges identifying which pharmacies are engaging in this practice. Patients, prescribers, and pharmacists will now be able to use the Pharmacy Public Register to find appropriate compounding facilities using drop-down filters.

Pharmacies can now submit a self-declaration to CPhM of their provision of compounding as a pharmacy care service. This declaration can occur at any time and will be included as part of the license application and renewal process moving forward.

If your pharmacy does not offer NAPRA compliant sterile hazardous and/or non-hazardous compounding, or non-sterile compounding Level C, no action is needed.

Pharmacy managers can update this information on the Pharmacy Public Register with the following steps:

  1. Log into your Pharmacy Portal.
  2. Click “Update Pharmacy Information – Add/Edit Employee Lists or Compounding Declarations.”
  3. Read the self-declaration and use the selections provided to indicate what NAPRA compliant compounding services your pharmacy provides and which services you want publicized.
  4. Click Save.

Once you have completed these steps, the Pharmacy Public Register will be updated automatically, and CPhM will be notified of your compounding self-declarations.

For additional information about pharmacy compounding, please visit the following links:

Pharmacy Compounding Standards: Sterile Preparations 

Pharmacy Compounding Standards: Non-sterile Preparations

CPhM Announces 2022-24 Council Membership   

This serves to inform registrants of the results of the recent election process conducted by the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba. The following individuals are deemed elected Council members for the 2022-2024 term:

Electoral District One:

  • Ryan Buffie, acclaimed
  • Alanna Doell, acclaimed
  • Brendon Mitchell, acclaimed
  • Sonal Purohit, appointed

Electoral District Two:

  • Drupad Joshi, acclaimed
  • Jane Lamont, acclaimed
  • Jennifer Ludwig, appointed
  • Kristine Petrasko, acclaimed

At the close of nominations, three nominations were received in each electoral district. As per CPhM By-law, Section 5.08, these individuals were acclaimed to serve on Council.

One position in each electoral district remained vacant at the close of nominations.  Two individuals were appointed by the elected and ex officio members of the currently presiding Council to fill these vacancies, as per CPhM By-law, Section 5.08.

No election is required for the 2022-2024 term.

Congratulations to those acclaimed and appointed to Council for the 2022 – 2024 term. 

This slate of elected Council members will begin their two-year term immediately following the Annual General Meeting, on Saturday, May 7, 2022, and will serve alongside the public Council members, appointed by the Minister, and ex officio Council members.

Thank you to all outgoing Council members who served for the 2020-2022 Council term. 

CPhM Annual General Meeting Registration is Now Open

The College of Pharmacists of Manitoba (CPhM) will hold its 144th Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday, May 7, 2022,by webinar.

For more information and to register, please click here.

Reminder: Tramadol Prescribing, Dispensing, and Record Keeping Changes Effective March 31, 2022

The College of Pharmacists of Manitoba (CPhM) Council, and the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba (CPSM) have approved the addition of tramadol products to the M3P list.

This decision is a result of the federal scheduling changes to tramadol announced by Health Canada, whereby tramadol will be subject to all the regulatory requirements set out in the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA) and the Narcotic Control Regulations (NCR).  

Both federal scheduling changes, and the provincial addition to the M3P list, came into effect on March 31, 2022.

For all prescriptions written BEFORE March 31, 2022, patients may be provided with only ONE additional refill for a maximum of a 1-month supply. After that, all patients must acquire a new prescription that follows the new legislated requirements. All prescriptions written ON OR AFTER March 31, 2022, must follow the new rules.

For more information on the prescribing, dispensing, and record keeping changes for tramadol products, and for an FAQ for the public, please see the College website at the following link:

CPhM Spring Hours of Operation

The College of Pharmacist of Manitoba wishes everyone a happy spring season!

Please be advised that the College office will be closed:  

  • Friday, April 15, 2022
  • Monday, April 18, 2022

Regular office hours resume on Tuesday, April 19, 2022, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Please call ahead before visiting the CPhM office to ensure staff are available to help you.

You can drop off documents such as applications at any time in the secure black deposit box to the left of the main entrance.

Upcoming Events & Professional Development Opportunities 

ACS Network Heart Attack Day 2022

April 29, 2022 

Register here


39th Annual Calgary Therapeutics Course 

April 29 & 30, 2022

Register here.


Pharmacists Manitoba Conference

April 30 and May 1, 2022

Register here.


May 27 & 28, 2022

Register here.